3 booted out


X (Twitter)210
Follow by Email10
Copy link

ZIMBABWE – Twenty-five out of 36 members of the Zanu-PF Manicaland youth executive, yesterday resolved to pass a vote of no confidence against three executive members for contravening the party’s constitution, among a host of allegations.

The three, Cdes Kelvin Manyengavana, Getrude Mutandi and Washington Zihwihwi, also had prohibition orders given to them by the vice-chairman of the Manicaland executive committee, Cde Joseph Mujati, who is also the provincial chairman for the disciplinary committee, barring them from conducting any party business until their cases are heard and finalised.

Announcing the vote of no confidence against the three at the Manicaland Provincial Administrator’s Conference Room, youth league vice-chairman, Cde Mubuso Chinguno, said: “Cdes Kelvin Manyengavana and Zihwihwi connived to disobey an instruction from the national political commissar, which was instructing Manicaland Youth League to hold an inter-district conference on 27 November 2015 because Cde Manyengavana was out of the country. This was despite the fact that the vice-chairman and the entire provincial executive members and all the required district executive chairpersons were in the country.”

Cdes Mutandi and Zihwihwi were accused of illegally interfering with the operations of the provincial women’s league despite the fact that there were not members of that organ.

“They hired and ferried thugs using Getrude Mutandi’s vehicle to disturb and boo members of the national executive women’s league led by Cde Eunice Sandi Moyo who had come to Manicaland Province to meet the provincial women’s league pertaining their women’s league affairs.

“Cde Mutandi and Zihwihwi had come to the provincial women’s league meeting claiming to be supporters of the then suspended Manicaland provincial chairlady, Cde Happiness Nyakuedzwa. It required the intervention of the visiting national women’s league leadership. Such actions are contrary to the aims and objective of the youth league, Article 22/193.3 (iii),” reads the statement that was copied to Cdes Pupurai Togarepi (national secretary for youth affairs), Kudzai Chipanga (deputy national secretary for youth affairs), Innocent Hamandishe (national youth political commissar), Kenneth Saruchera (Manicaland provincial secretary for administration), Edward Mapamba (Manicaland provincial commissar) and Nokuthula Matsikenyere (Manicaland provincial chairlady).

Cde Manyengavana, Mutandi and Zihwihwi were alleged to be in the habit of insulting senior party leaders through the social media particularly whatsapp.

Some of the whatsapp groups cited include Zim 1 Group (allegedly administered by Cde Sibongile Sibanda, a national executive member, Dare ReChimurenga (allegedly administered by Cde Godfrey Tsenengamu, former youth chairman, Mashonaland Central and Cdes and Friends (allegedly administered by Cde Cleopas Samanga, Manicaland provincial secretary for transport and welfare.)
The disgruntled members also alleged that the trio had continued defying instructions from Zanu-PF national leadership.

“After being warned several times by the Zanu-PF national leadership to desist from undesirable tendencies, the trio has remained steadfast in pursuing their factional and indiscipline which has left 25 out of the current 36 members of the provincial executive members with no choice, but to pass a vote of no confidence on the said comrades,” reads the statement.

Cde Chinguno was appointed acting chairman.

Cde Mujati later issued a prohibition order against the trio copied to Vice-President Phelekezela Mphoko (national chairman of the disciplinary committee), Cdes Togarepi, Chipanga, Hamandishe, Saruchera, Mapamba, Ronald Muderedzwa, Matsikenyere and Chinguno.

The prohibition order reads: “Following a vote of no confidence which was passed against you by your organ on December 10, 2015 under Article 28/265 of the party constitution, the Zanu-PF Manicaland Province do hereby prohibit you from conducting any party business on behalf of either the youth league and the party until the matter has been heard and finalised.

“A provincial disciplinary committee will soon be set up and subsequently invite you to appear before it on a date to be advised.”

In a response through provincial youth secretary for information and publicity, Cde Gibson Mupeti who was at pains to explain the contents of his press release, the trio accused Cdes Victor Saunyama, Kudzi Madhara, Tawanda Tswatswa and Mubuso Chinguno of causing unwarranted divisions in their executive.

When asked about the venue of their meeting and those who were in attendance, Cde Mupeti initially went blank before stammering: “We had our meeting at Meikles Park.”

He later changed and said they had their meeting at 22 Miles and was attended by 28 executive members, but failed to give just five members of the provincial executive members who attended the meeting.

X (Twitter)210
Follow by Email10
Copy link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

CSOs Demand Release of Detained Female Activists

By Rumbidzai Mutomba HARARE- Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) say they...

Obituary: Lucy Yasini: A symbol of journalistic resistance

Opinion By Nigel Nyamutumbu The only weapon Lucy Yasini carried...

Government Cancels Passion Link Coaches’ Operating License After Tragic Blaze

HARARE - The Government has taken the decision to...

Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission To Set An Interview Over Leaked Audio Allegations

HARARE - The Zimbabwe Anti Corruption Commission has released...