D-Day for Mujuru – Another explosive Politiburo meeting this Saturday

D-Day for Mujuru – Another explosive Politiburo meeting this Saturday


ZIMBABWE – ZANU-PF will on Saturday hold another potentially explosive Politburo meeting which is likely to come up with other far-reaching decisions.

The Politburo meets at a time of mounting pressure on Vice President Joice Mujuru, who is facing a slew of allegations including corruption, plotting to assassinate President Mugabe and undermining his authority. Calls for VP Mujuru to resign heightened this week following revelations that she was plotting, together with other senior Zanu-PF officials, to assassinate President Mugabe.

War veterans, women, youths and students, among others, have urged the VP to resign before the party congress slated for early next month to avoid humiliation.The students, who met First Lady Amai Grace Mugabe on Monday, threatened to confront VP Mujuru if she failed to do the “honourable” thing and resign.

Secretary for Administration Didymus Mutasa confirmed the Politburo meeting on Saturday, but refused to divulge its agenda. “Makaita seiko imi, ndogara ndakakutaurirai kuti agenda yePolitburo haitaurweba,” he said. “Are you children musinganzwi. You always ask, itii Jonathan andibvunze.”

Reliable sources say the National Disciplinary Committee is scheduled to meet tomorrow to receive reports of the various votes of no confidence passed on the party’s provincial chairpersons.

The Politburo suspended party spokesperson Rugare Gumbo for five years last week and although no reasons were released, speculation is rife that he was suspended because of working together with VP Mujuru to unseat President Mugabe.

The same meeting booted out former war veterans’ leader Jabulani Sibanda for exhibiting conduct bordering on insurgency. Sibanda was shown the exit door after he threatened to mobilise war veterans to march to State house, a conduct described by many Zimbabweans as undermining the authority of President Mugabe.

The meeting also suspended Central Committee member Enoch Porusingazi for five years. The vote of no confidence passed in provincial chairpersons Amos Midzi (Harare), Callisto Gwanetsa (Masvingo), Andrew Langa (Matabeleland South) and Jason Machaya (Midlands), was upheld by the Politburo meeting.

Former Manicaland provincial chairperson John Mvundura was issued with a written warning before he was booted out by his
provincial executive the following week. The same Politburo confirmed the vote of no confidence in Masvingo provincial Women’s League chairperson Cde Shylett Uyoyo and the province’s youth league leaders Tongai Magomana and Oliver Huruba.

Other provincial chairpersons who have since received a vote of no confidence from their executives are Professor Callisto Ndlovu (Bulawayo), Luke Mushore (Mashonaland Central), Ray Kaukonde (Mashonaland East Province) and Temba Mliswa (Mashonaland West). Matabeleland North provincial chairman Richard Moyo is the only one who is safe for now. The Zanu-PF congress is scheduled to take place from December 2 to 7. Herald

    love 0 Love
    wink 0 Wink
    lol 0 LoL
    wow 0 Wow
    cry 0 Cry
    angry 0 Angry