Mujuru finally loses VP post

Mujuru finally loses VP post
  • Post author:
  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:2 Comments


HARARE – Vice President Joice Mujuru yesterday lost her bid to secure a Central Committee post after her district of origin, Mt Darwin, rejected her application in elections that saw a number of other Zanu-PF bigwigs linked to her nefarious activities to oust President Mugabe also failing to make it. The loss means VP Mujuru automatically loses her post as Vice President and Second Secretary of the party at the National People’s Congress slated for next week.

Other Politburo members who suffered the same fate include Dzikamai Mavhaire in Masvingo, Tendai Savanhu in Harare, Francis Nhema, Flora Buka and Simbarashe Mumbengegwi in the Midlands and Naison Khutshwekhaya Ndlovu in Matabeleland South. They join other bigwigs like secretary for Administration Didymus Mutasa in Manicaland and Sikhanyiso Ndlovu, Absolom Sikhosana and Angeline Masuku in Bulawayo who have already fallen by the wayside.

If the President does not consider her name for the Central Committee, it means her career as a top party official would have ended as she would revert to being an ordinary card-carrying member because she must be a member of the organ for her to sit in the Politburo.

VP Mujuru submitted her CV to the provincial elections directorate which rejected it last Sunday on the basis that she was implicated in leading a faction that was plotting to assassinate President Mugabe. Acting Mashonaland Central provincial chair Wonder Mashange said yesterday that the province did not want to be associated with anyone plotting to kill the party’s First Secretary.

Instead of VP Mujuru, Mount Darwin District seconded Politburo member George Rutanhire. Addressing the Zanu-PF leadership in Mount Darwin yesterday, Mashange said: “As a party we should listen to the voice of the people. The CV of Joice Teurai Ropa Mujuru was not recommended. “We sat last week as the provincial executive council and agreed that we should defend our President. We agreed that any member of the party who is accused of plotting to assassinate the President we are not going to accept his or her CV.”

In Harare, the Central Committee elections were marred by violence, with Politburo member  Tendai Savanhu, who had already been barred from contesting, facing allegations of instigating the disturbances. Zanu-PF Politburo member Cleveria Chizema confirmed the disturbances. Big wigs that fell in the province were Joseph Macheka and Stalin Mau Mau, while suspended ZBC acting chief executive Allan Chiweshe also bit the dust.

Lloyd Bhunu, Endy Mhlanga, Patrick Nyaruwata, Cleveria Chizema, Jackson Maombera, Retired Brigadier General Boniface Hurungudo, Oliver Mandishona, Sabina Thembani, Evermary Marwa and Justice Zvandasara secured their posts. Zanu-PF bigwigs in Mashonaland East who included former provincial chairperson Ray Kaukonde did not submit their CVs for nominations following a vote of no confidence passed on them recently.

Others who failed to make it were ousted secretary for finance Simbaneuta Mudarikwa, political commissar Tendai Makunde and his deputy George Katsande, deputy secretary for security Washington Musvaire, deputy secretary for finance Felix Mhona, secretary for education Taurai Pasirai, secretary for administration Peter Murwira and Boniface Mutize.

The province yesterday held its inter-district meeting in Marondera where the co-ordinating committee announced members who were nominated into the Central Committee. These included Sydney Sekeramayi, Marbel Chinomona, Jerry Gotora, David Parirenyatwa, Paddy Zhanda, Joel Biggy Matiza, Dr Olivia Muchena, Rosemary Goto, Dorothey Chigweremba, Marbel Katazo and Tabeth Murwira.

Sekeramayi urged the members to represent the interests of the people and not to forget that they were chosen by the people. “You should be able to come back and listen to the grievances of the people since you will be representing the people. Let’s work together for developmental purposes,” he said.

Sekeramayi urged party members to be disciplined, after some party members demonstrated outside the provincial headquarters. “I agree that some people may have grievances but the grievances should not destroy the party,” he said. “Let us have respect of our leaders. Problems are there and they can be solved.”

In Masvingo, embattled Politburo member and Cabinet minister Mavhaire led a cast of other senior party officials and Cabinet ministers in the province who failed to make it into the powerful Central Committee. Mavhaire, the Zanu PF secretary for production and Labour and Energy and Power Development minister failed to bag one of the four Central Committee slots in Masvingo District after losing the election to Masvingo Urban Member of Parliament Daniel Shumba who garnered 151 votes against his 51.

Masvingo South Member of Parliament and Tourism and Hospitality Industry Minister Walter Mzembi also failed to make it into the Central Committee after he was outpolled by Exavier Magweva by 154 votes to 49 in Masvingo District. Clemence Makwarimba and Masvingo Central Member of Parliament Edmund Mhere filled the other slots in the district.

Others notables who failed to make it in Masvingo were Samuel Mumbengegwi, Retired Colonel Claudius Makova and former Masvingo governor Willard Chiwewe. Josaya Hungwe, Paul Mangwana, Kennedy Matimba, Jerifanos Matorofa, Tobias Jaboon, Kudakwashe Bhasikiti, Lemson Matavire, Tafadzwa Shumba, Nyasha Gavaza and Retired Brigadier General Livingstone Chineka also made it.
Rtd Col Makova conceded defeat.

“After all has been said and done, the fact remains that I lost,” he said in an interview. “I wish the winners all the best.’’cIn the Midlands Buka, Nhema and Mumbengegwi lost by huge margins and provincial spokesperson Cornelius Mpereri confirmed the results.

Matabeleland South, Khutshwekhaya Ndlovu confirmed his defeat yesterday. Ousted provincial chairperson Andrew Langa, who before his sacking was eyeing a central committee post, did not contest. In Matabeleland North, only one Politburo member, Samuel Mugande from Binga, contested in the central committee elections after his district did not agree that his position should not be contested.cProvincial chairman Richard Moyo confirmed that Mugande lost to John Mzamba.

Former Governor for Masvingo Titus Maluleke was elected unopposed to claim the Zanu-PF Chiredzi District Central Committee post at elections which were held at Chitsanga Hall.cAnnouncing the results to voters, presiding officer Ronald Ndava said Maluleke was unanimously elected as no one challenged him.cOther newly elected central committee members from the district were Jimmy Simon Mahiya, Petros Chivhinga and Abrham Mataleni Sithole.

    love 0 Love
    wink 0 Wink
    lol 0 LoL
    wow 0 Wow
    cry 0 Cry
    angry 0 Angry